Skip to content
The University of Texas at Austin - What Starts Here Changes The World The University of Texas at Austin Division of Student Affairs


CMHC will provide counseling, psychiatric, and crisis services to support UT students via telehealth rather than in person until further notice. Click here for more information.

Counselors in Academic Residence Program (CARE)

CARE is a program of the Counseling and Mental Health Center that was created in collaboration with the Office of the Provost. CARE counselors are located within the colleges they serve. They are licensed mental health professionals and work with students who have been referred by faculty and staff.

CARE’s primary mission is to provide access to mental health support for students who are struggling emotionally and/or academically. Our presence normalizes the counseling process and makes us readily available for services. We decrease barriers by assisting students in a location that is familiar and convenient for them. CARE counselors get to know the concerns that are unique to their college’s students. They integrate in the college and provide support and consultation on mental health issues for advisors, faculty and dean’s staff.

CARE offers the following:

  • Short-term individual counseling sessions
  • Workshops and Seminars
  • Education about mental health issues for staff, faculty, and students
  • Streamlined referral process to mental health professionals in the Austin community
  • Consultation for academic partners

Common reasons student seek a CARE referral:

Meet your CARE counselor

Click on a school below to see a short video from your CARE counselor.


CARE Staff

Nic Dahlberg, LPC
College of Natural Sciences

Laura Dupuis, LCSW-S
CMHC Assistant Director for CARE
College of Pharmacy

Toby Leblanc, LPC-S
McCombs School of Business
Jackson School of Geosciences

Cassandra Moreno, LPC
College of Liberal Arts
* Currently on leave

Alexandra Okeke-Banks, LPC
Cockrell School of Engineering

Andrea Ortega, LCSW-S
College of Natural Sciences

Gretchen Rees, LCSW-S
School of Nursing
Dell Medical School
Steve Hicks School of Social work

Armando Sanchez, LCSW
Cockrell School of Engineering

Laura Sandoval-Sweeney, LCSW
College of Liberal Arts

Abby Simpson, LCSW
School of Architecture
Moody College of Communication

Maria Timm, PhD
College of Fine Arts
School of Law

Danie White, LPC, LMFT
School of Undergraduate Studies
College of Education
University Housing and Dining

For more information about the CARE Program contact:
Laura Dupuis, LCSW (512) 475-6914

CARE main page

cmhc logo
facebook twitter instagram youtube